State of Origin: New South Wales Blues & Queensland Maroons

The State of Origin series is a lot of things; it is the most-watched sporting event in Australia – each of the games in the series record audience larger than any other sporting event in the country. It is the greatest rivalry in Australian sport; players from the two teams put their all into all three games, showing raw passion, skill, desperation, fortitude, and tenacity. This results in a showpiece like no other. It is the pinnacle of rugby in the Australian rugby league. No other competitor comes close to it.

State of Origin is a best-of-three series competed annually by two teams from the heartland States of Australia; New South Wales Blue and Queensland Maroon.

New South Wales Blue

This is the rugby league team that represents the state of New South Wales in the State of Origin series. The current coach of the team is Brad Fittler and the team is captained by Boyd Cordner. The home stadium of New South Wales Blues is the ANZ Stadium, which has a capacity of 84,000. It is the current shield holder having won 2-1 with 122 points scored. This was the 15th title won by the team.

Queensland Maroon

The team represents the state of Queensland in the State of Origin series. The current coach of Queensland Maroons is Kevin Walters and the captain is Daly Cherry-Evans. All home matches of the team are played at Brisbane’s Lang Park, which has been renamed to Suncorp Stadium. The team holds the record for the highest number of titles in the series having won the shield 21 times. The Maroons went on a record-breaking run of eight consecutive titles between 2006 and 2013.

You can watch State of Origin 2020 on Nine Network if you are in Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *